top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAbbbey Zahra

College Students & Shopping on Shein

Updated: Feb 11, 2021

Friday, February 12th, 2021


We all know that being a College student doesn't pay, which is why most of us have part-time jobs. But most of that money goes to things like food, bills, tuition, and textbooks or equipment for our classes. After all of that, we barely have any extra money to spend on ourselves, and if you're like me, you like having extra cash to spend on clothes. So, our only solution is to buy fast, cheap fashion which is usually sold on the website Shein.


If you don't know what Shein is, it's an online clothing store that sells everything from fashion to home décor for a low price. This online retailer is where most college students who like balling on a budget shop because it's all we can afford.



Here's a tank top that I bought recently from Shein, along with the bag it came in.


But the problem with Shein is that it's fast unethical fashion that uses child labour. Workers are barely paid a livable wage, which is why everything is so cheap and accessible for us, which is unfortunately quite common for large fashion corporations. This is why people want to shop ethically, from brands that don't use sweatshops or small businesses that create all their own products. But the reality is not everyone can afford that way of living at the moment, even though we would love to support them.


I currently only buy clothing from Shein when I need to, like during the beginning or end of the year. An alternative to shopping fast fashion would be to buy from thrift stores, but if you're like me, you have trouble sifting through piles of used clothes. And find it hard to find items that cater to your style and size. It's essential to think about this before you shame somebody for buying clothes from Shein because most of us much rather be able to afford ethical fashion.



These are a few items I recently also bought from Shein.


So, if you decide to shop on Shein or any other fast fashion website, it's important to keep it minimal. This means not buying from them frequently and not spending $400 in one sitting. I hope you know that it's okay to shop on Shein and stores like that if it's the only place you can afford because, as broke college students we don't really have a choice.


Another example of some clothes I bought off Shein in the last year.


Thank you for reading this weeks blog! If you'd like to see more about the items I got, visit my Instagram, Twitter, or Facebook. Tune in next Friday for an honest review of the new Animal Crossing Collection from ColourPop Cosmetics.


13 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

My Comfort TV Shows and Movies

I'm the type of person who never likes to watch something new unless I'm watching with someone else. I'm definitely a creature of habit who likes to stick to routine; maybe that's why I watch the same

Crystals For Beginners

The crystal community may seem intimidating if you’re just getting into it. You may not know what to buy, where to buy, and “if you’re doing it right.” People need to know that there’s no wrong way to

Air Dry Clay VS Oven Baked Clay

I’ve been using clay as my medium of choice for a couple of months now, and it’s allowed me to form some opinions on different types of clay out there. Here is my breakdown of air-dry clay VS oven bak

bottom of page