top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAbbbey Zahra

My Comfort TV Shows and Movies

I'm the type of person who never likes to watch something new unless I'm watching with someone else. I'm definitely a creature of habit who likes to stick to routine; maybe that's why I watch the same show every night before bed. Whenever people recommend shows or movies to me, I always say, "I'm going to watch it" or "I'll put it on my list." But do I ever actually do it? No.


I recognize that it's a problem, but am I going to fix it? No! I love sticking to my comfort shows and movies; they feel good and familiar. I love familiar; I wouldn't say I like being disappointed. I also like being able to multitask while the show or movie plays in the background, but with new material, I have to force myself to pay attention the whole time. Paying attention to the dialogue and what's happening on TV is extremely hard for me because of my ADHD; I like focusing in and out of what I'm watching. But that isn't possible when watching new things, and that's the main problem unless the first episode of a show catches my interest right away, which is super rare.


One of the shows that I watch every day is RuPaul's Drag Race, probably number one on my comfort shows list. I watch it multiple times a day, during meals, while I wash dishes, and before bed. Which means I fall asleep to it every night. It's a predictable show with a storyline that's almost the same every season, and that's why I like it. I also love the art of drag, so that a plus.


Another one of my comfort shows is New Girl. Unlike RuPaul's Drag Race, New girl isn't a reality show. This means the plot isn't the same every season. But nonetheless, I still know the ins and outs of this show. It's a sitcom, which means you can watch any episode and still understand the show's plot. This is why I love sitcoms; it doesn't matter where you start or leave off. I don't watch this show nearly as often as RPDR, but it's still one of my favourites. I'll probably be watching these two shows until the day I die, and I'm okay with that.

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Crystals For Beginners

The crystal community may seem intimidating if you’re just getting into it. You may not know what to buy, where to buy, and “if you’re doing it right.” People need to know that there’s no wrong way to

Air Dry Clay VS Oven Baked Clay

I’ve been using clay as my medium of choice for a couple of months now, and it’s allowed me to form some opinions on different types of clay out there. Here is my breakdown of air-dry clay VS oven bak

bottom of page